More Sevens in Leviticus 23

Leviticus 23 shows seven feasts that the Lord wanted Israel to observe, but He did not enumerate them; we have to count them for ourselves.

However, the same chapter does speak of other sevens plainly concerning the feasts of the children of Israel:

Leviticus 23:3 – They were to rest on the seventh day.

Leviticus 23:6 – They were to eat unleavened bread for seven days.

Leviticus 23:8 – They were to make an offering by fire for seven days, and the seventh day would be a holy convocation.

Leviticus 23:15, 16 – They were to count seven Sabbaths after the Feast of Firstfruits, and after the seventh Sabbath offer a new grain offering.

Leviticus 23:18 – With that grain offering they were to offer seven lambs.

Leviticus 23:24 – During the Feast of Trumpets, in the seventh month, on the first day of the month, they had a Sabbath rest.

Leviticus 23:27 – The Day of Atonement happened on the tenth of the seventh month.

Leviticus 23:34 – The Feast of Tabernacles began on the fifteenth day of the seventh month and last seven days.

Leviticus 23:36 – For seven days they offered an offering made by fire

Leviticus 23:39–42 – On the fifteenth day of the seventh month He repeated that they kept the Feast of Tabernacles for seven days, and they were to rejoice before God for seven days. He repeated two more times that this feast lasted seven days, and that it happened in the seventh month!

The Lord loves, “seven”!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s